Shawnee is served by two award winning school districts: Shawnee Mission School District and De Soto School District. Students in Shawnee continue to perform at the highest academic levels as listed in the annual Standard of Excellence report from the Kansas State Department of Education in 2019.

Shawnee Mission School District

Approximately 27,596 students attend 34 elementary schools, five middle schools and five high schools in the 2019-20 school year.


USD 232 School District

Each school day, the district welcomes more than 7,400 students through the doors of its 12 campuses with seven elementary schools, three middle schools and two high schools. USD 232 encompasses an area of nearly 100 square miles in northwest Johnson County and draws from the communities of De Soto, Shawnee, Lenexa, a portion of Olathe, and unincorporated areas of the county.


  Click Here for more secondary and higher education data >